Learn about Certified Scrum Master®

In the previous post, we covered “How to get ISO 9001:2008 Lead Auditor Certified?“. In this post, we are going to cover our talks around Certified Scrum Master with Jayita Basu, a certified ISO 9001:2008 Lead Auditor®, Certified Scrum Master® and ITIL Foundation®. Excerpts of the chat is included below:

Why Certified Scrum Master?

One of the debate raging within the IT industry is whether agile software development techniques work. I believe they do. One of several reasons why agile techniques are so effective, in my opinion, is that they reduce the feedback cycle between the generation of an idea and the realization of that idea. This minimizes the risk of misunderstanding along with reduction in cost of addressing any mistakes.

Scrum is an iterative and incremental  agile software development framework for managing product development. It defines “a flexible, holistic product development strategy where a development team works as a unit to reach a common goal”, challenges assumptions of the “traditional, sequential approach” to product development, and enables teams to self-organize by encouraging physical co-location or close online collaboration of all team members, as well as daily face-to-face communication among all team members and disciplines in the project.

A Certified Scrum Master® (CSM) helps project teams properly use Scrum, increasing the likelihood of the project’s overall success. CSMs understand Scrum values, practices, and applications and provide a level of knowledge and expertise above and beyond that of typical project managers. CSMs act as “servant leaders,” helping the rest of the Scrum team work together and learn the Scrum framework. CSMs also protect the team from both internal and external distractions.

Who should take this certification?

Seasoned and budding Project Managers who manage or plan to manage agile projects should take this certification. Also, Team Leads or Quality Managers can also undergo this.

How to be a Certified Scrum Master?

There are several institutes that provide online/classroom trainings and get you certified from Scrum Alliance. One needs to attend a 2 day classroom training followed by a 90 minutes certification exam to be taken within 90 days. There are 2 free attempts and one needs to score 75% to get certified. There are 35 multiple choice questions which needs to be answered.

For those aspiring to be Certified Scrum Master, we have added sample questions around this certification under the Quiz section in PaanGO.



One thought on “Learn about Certified Scrum Master®

Comments are closed.