Who should go for ITIL® Foundation Level Qualification?

In the earlier two posts, we covered “How to get ISO 9001:2008 Lead Auditor Certified?” and “Learn about Certified Scrum Master®”. In this post, we would share tips around ITIL Foundation as told to us by Jayita Basu, a certified ISO 9001:2008 Lead Auditor®, Certified Scrum Master® and ITIL Foundation®. Excerpts of the chat is included below:

Please provide our readers with a background of ITIL

ITIL, formerly known as the Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is a set of practices for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of business. In its current form (known as ITIL 2011 edition), ITIL is published as a series of five core volumes, each of which covers a different ITSM lifecycle stage. ITIL describes processes, procedures, tasks, and checklists which are not organization specific, but can be applied by an organization for establishing integration with the organization’s strategy, delivering value, and maintaining a minimum level of competency. It allows the organization to establish a baseline from which it can plan, implement, and measure. It is used to demonstrate compliance and to measure improvement.

Since July 2013, ITIL has been owned by AXELOS Ltd. AXELOS licenses organisations to use the ITIL intellectual property, accredits licensed Examination Institutes, and manages updates to the framework. In line with the 2007 edition, the 2011 edition consists of five core publications:

  1. ITIL Service Strategy: understands organizational objectives and customer needs.
  2. ITIL Service Design: turns the service strategy into a plan for delivering the business objectives.
  3. ITIL Service Transition: develops and improves capabilities for introducing new services into supported environments.
  4. ITIL Service Operation: manages services in supported environments.
  5. ITIL Continual Service Improvement: achieves services incremental and large-scale improvements.

Due to the similarity between ITIL v3 of 2007 and ITIL 2011, no bridge examinations for ITIL v3 certification holders were created or made available for ITIL 2011 certification.

How to get ITIL Foundation level qualification?

One can get enrolled in any of the certification institutes to get certified. ITIL Foundation is a 2 day classroom training wherein the exam is conducted on the last day. The exam is a multiple choice one with 40 questions to be completed in 60 minutes. You need to score 65% to pass the exam.

Who Should go for ITIL Foundation level qualification?

Those in IT financial management, continuity management, availability and capacity management, service level management, and service desks stand to get the most out of ITIL training and certification.

If you are aspiring to be qualified in ITIL Foundation Level, we have provided some sample tests around ITIL Foundation under the PaanGO Quiz here.

One thought on “Who should go for ITIL® Foundation Level Qualification?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>